公告
我們如何選擇要使用的材料

我們想介紹我們的產品所使用的材料,並解釋為什麼它們是重要的替代材料,無論是天然存在的材料還是廣泛可用的材料,還是塑料(例如生物塑料)的更具可持續性的選擇。

Naturally occurring materials:

  • 天然材料:我們的大多數產品都是用竹子製成的。竹子是世界上生長最快的植物。竹子通常被認為是一棵樹,但實際上是一棵植物-與類似大小的樹相比,它向大氣中釋放的氧氣最多增加35%。它的生長也比樹木快得多-一天可達一米,或比樹木快三倍。這意味著一公頃的竹子可以用來生產與二十公頃的森林相同數量的產品。竹子還有許多其他好處,雖然不是所有的竹子產品都是一樣的,但最原始的天然形式的竹子-本質上說,仍然看起來像竹子的竹子-否則將由塑膠製成,是最可持續的選擇,木頭或紙。

生物塑料:

  • 副產品,例如蔗渣和麥草:我們還提供由副產品製成的產品,這些副產品原本會浪費。例如,我們的外賣容器由甘蔗廢料製成的100%有機和可生物降解的蔗渣紙漿製成。小麥秸稈也是另一種農業副產品,沒有大量用作工業原料。蜂蠟是蜂蜜生產的另一種副產品,是一種完全天然的物質。它有多種用途,並且非常適合用作可重複使用的食品包裝紙,包括奶酪。

  • PLA: 種新的生物塑料可以在垃圾填埋場中3年內降解,而普通的塑膠則可以在100到1000年內降解。PLA的原材料主要由天然高分子材料(例如玉米澱粉)製成,纖維素,幾丁質)或農業副產品通過微生物發酵來合成可生物降解的大分子。用這種材料生產的袋子和薄膜可以在微生物(垃圾場或土壤中的各種蠕蟲等)的作用下自然分解為常見的自然形式,例如二氧化碳和水。
  • PBATPBAT由化合物(澱粉,PLA)製成,且生物基碳含量最高> 30%。它通常用於製造用於包裝的柔性薄膜,例如可堆肥的購物袋。
為什麼一次性塑膠是一個普遍的問題,而回收卻不是解決方案。

S一次性包裝和塑膠產品浪費是當今地球面臨最普遍和快速增長的問題之一。我們生活在一個消費越來越多,種類繁多的一次性物品的世界中,其中很少一部分被回收利用。一年中產生的所有廢物中,約有四分之一最終排入我們的海洋,其餘大部分則被燃燒,掩埋或亂拋垃圾。這種“製造,製造,製造,然後浪費”的消費理念已經佔據了我們的日常生活,因為它以實惠的價格為我們提供了無與倫比的便利。

僅在六十年前才開始的塑膠被大規模生產已經如此迅速地加速,以至於它創造了83億噸的塑料,其中大部分來自一次性產品,最終變成了垃圾。這似乎是一個不可理解的數量。即使是打算進行世界上第一個統計的塑膠產量,丟棄量,燃燒量或填埋場數量的科學家,也對數字的巨大規模感到震驚。

在全球範圍內, 高達91%的塑膠未被回收。所有這些塑膠廢料最終都將進入垃圾堆填區,或者更糟,被焚化或進入我們的供水系統。

那些被認為是從採掘,製造,浪費經濟中獲取最大利益的企業,倡導將回收作為一種使世界更清潔,更健康的戰略。實際上,這僅僅是繼續照常營業的掩護。例如,香港實際上不存在回收利用-城市收集的任何可回收材料都被收集來用於出口,這種方式越來越不可持續。收集用於出口的產品,這種方法越來越不可持續。

綠色化學

回收具有內在毒性的材料意味著我們為危險物質提供了再次污染環境和人體的機會。我們必須使用天然可生物降解材料,非危險化學品和恢復性製造工藝製造產品。像這樣的組織 GC3, 物資, 更安全 and 仿生研究所正在引領向綠色化學的過渡。

其他國家如何減少塑料消耗量?

世界各國政府經常受到其公民和環境團體的壓力,他們正在攻擊問題的根源:大量的塑料消費。通過從數種一次性塑料到所有塑料的禁令和稅收,這些政府都在進行政策調整,以減少塑料消耗並激勵一次性塑料的替代品。以下是一些示例,說明了不同國家如何減少其人口的塑料使用量。

中國,馬來西亞和菲律賓最近對進口外國廢物的禁令使我們的物料管理市場處於不可持續的地位。

如果用原生材料生產商品比循環再利用的商品更有利可圖,那麼循環利用將無法進行。政府可以通過對原始材料的生產和消費徵稅或補貼再生材料使其比原始材料便宜來糾正這一問題。

在進行回收的地方,材料和產品的聚集,分離和重建主要是使用中國和東南亞的低成本勞動力進行的。這些勞動力始終處於危險的工作環境和有毒化學物質中,以最低的工資獲得收入。為全球廢物和回收系統提供動力的剝削性勞工製度的不公正現像很少被納入考慮範圍。

最好的解決方案是什麼?

圓形設計

產品的設計應具有更長壽命,輕便的拆卸程序和放棄重複使用性,同時不要過時。補充性政策需要促進和保護消費者的使用權,同時確保生產者對產品的整個使用週期負責。

產品製造商可以關注IDEO的圓形設計指南 and MBDC的從搖籃到搖籃的協議l制定可持續發展準則。一些組織正在將這些想法付諸實踐,包括新陳代謝,好時尚和ReFED。諸如阿爾格拉莫, 寶庫, 杜魯門的 and 循環 也可以幫助消費者參與此旅程。

  • 自2000年代初以來,超過15個非洲國家已禁止使用塑料購物袋或對塑料購物袋徵稅, 將它們置於美國,法國等“發達”國家之前。盧旺達,厄立特里亞,坦桑尼亞,烏干達,博茨瓦納,肯尼亞,毛里塔尼亞,南非,塞內加爾,喀麥隆,幾內亞比紹,馬里,埃塞俄比亞和馬拉維都已採取某種方式限制一次性塑料,其中一些國家禁止所有一次性塑料,甚至進口一次性塑料。這些國家的居民創造了用紙,布,黃麻和酒椰製成的購物袋,事實證明它們是“對地球友好”的絕佳替代品。
  • 在禁令之前該法案於2016年7月1日簽署成為法律,摩洛哥每年使用30億個塑料袋-令人難以置信的每年每人900袋。它使其成為僅次於美國的世界第二大塑料袋消費國。但是發起了具有里程碑意義的法案,禁止在全國范圍內生產,進口,銷售和分發所有塑料袋。
  • 儘管政策改革很重要,而且肯定可以大規模實施,但塑膠禁令並不是解決方案plastic bans alone are not the solution. 截至2019年,全球127個國家/地區對塑膠的使用和消費進行了管制-但我們並未看到廢物或污染顯著減少。原因如下:

    1) 大多數國家/地區未能在其整個生命週期內對塑膠進行監管。

    2) 各國贊成部分禁令而不是全部禁令。

    3) 幾乎沒有國家限制塑膠袋的生產/生產。

    4) 豁免很多。

    5) 不提供一次性塑膠替代品的激勵措施。

    繁體中文 CH

THERE IS A FUTURE BEYOND PLASTIC
How we have chosen the materials to work with ?

We would like to introduce the materials that our products are created from, and explain why they are important alternative materials, as either naturally occurring and widely available material sources, or more sustainable options for plastic, such as bioplastics.

Naturally occurring materials:

Bamboo: The majority of our products are made out of bamboo. Bamboo is the world’s fastest growing plant. Bamboo is often thought of as a tree, but it’s actually a plant - and it releases up to 35% more oxygen into the atmosphere than a similarly sized tree. It also grows much faster than trees - up to one meter a day, or three times faster than a tree. This means that one hectare of bamboo can be used to produce the same amount of products than twenty hectares of forest. There are many other benefits of bamboo, and while not all bamboo products are created equally, bamboo in its rawest, natural forms - essentially, bamboo that still looks like bamboo - are the most sustainable choices for products that would otherwise be made out of plastic, wood, or paper.

Byproducts, such as bagasse and wheat straw: We also feature products that are made from byproducts that would otherwise go to the waste. For example, our takeaway containers are made from 100% organic and biodegradable bagasse pulp that is produced from sugarcane waste. Wheat straw is also another agricultural by-product that is not used as industrial raw material on a significant scale. Beeswax is another byproduct of honey production, and is an entirely naturally occurring material. It is used for a number of purposes, and is excellent as reusable food wrap, including for cheese.

Bioplastics:

PLA: Another material that we use is PLA, a new bioplastic that can biodegrade in 3 years in a landfill, unlike normal plastic that degrades in 100 to 1000 years.The raw material of PLA is mainly made of natural macromolecule (such as cornstarch, cellulose, chitin) or agricultural by-products through microbial fermentation to synthesize biodegradable macromolecule. The bags and film produced by this material can be naturally decomposed into common natural forms such as carbon dioxide and water under the action of microorganisms (garbage dump or various worms in soil, etc.)

PBAT: PBATis made of compounds (starch, PLA) and has a biobased carbon content of up to > 30%. It is typically used to create flexible film for packaging, such as compostable shopping bags.

Why single-use plastic is such a pervasive problem and recycling is not the solution?

Single-use packaging and product waste is one of the most pervasive and rapidly growing issues facing our planet today. We live in a world where we consume an increasing amount and variety of disposable items, a very small percentage of which is recycled; roughly a quarter of all waste produced in a year ends up in our oceans, and most of the rest is burned, buried or littered. This “take - make - waste” philosophy of consumption has taken over our daily lives because it gives us unparalleled convenience at an affordable price.

Mass production of plastics, which began just six decades ago, has accelerated so rapidly that it has created 8.3 billion metric tons of plastic—most of it in disposable products that end up as trash. If that seems like an incomprehensible quantity, it is. Even the scientists who set out to conduct the world’s first tally of how much plastic has been produced, discarded, burned or put in landfills, were horrified by the sheer size of the numbers.

Globally, a whopping 91% of plastic isn't recycled. All of this plastic waste ends in landfills or worse, incinerated or in our water supply.

Recycling is championed as the strategy to enable a cleaner, healthier world by those businesses that have profited the most from the extractive, take-make-waste economy. In reality, it is merely a cover to continue business as usual. For example, recycling virtually doesn’t exist in Hong Kong - any collected recyclable material in this city is collected for exporting, which is increasingly unsustainable.

China, Malaysia and the Philippines’s recent ban on foreign waste imports places the unsustainability of our material management markets front and center.

Recycling cannot work if it is more profitable to produce goods from virgin materials than recycled ones. Governments can correct this by either imposing tax on production and consumption of virgin materials or subsidise recycled materials to make it cheaper than virgin materials.

Where recycling is conducted, the aggregation, separation and reconstruction of materials and products is primarily done using low-cost labor in China and Southeast Asia. This workforce is consistently exposed to dangerous working conditions and toxic chemicals for minimal pay.The injustices of the exploitative labor system that powers the global waste and recycling system are rarely, if ever, factored into the equation.

What are the best solutions?
Circular design

Products should be designed for longevity, advanced disassembly and reuse rather than obsolescence. Complementary policies need to facilitate and protect a consumers’ right to repair while ensuring producers take responsibility for the full life cycle of their products.

Product manufacturers can follow IDEO’s Circular Design Guide and MBDC’s Cradle-to-Cradle protocol for sustainable guidelines. Several organizations are putting these ideas into practice including Metabolic, Fashion for Good and ReFED. Technologies such as Algramo, Trove, Truman’s and Loop can help consumers participate in this journey as well.

Green chemistry

Recycling materials that are inherently toxic means that we’re giving dangerous substances another chance to poison the environment and our bodies. We must make products from naturally sourced biodegradable materials, non-hazardous chemicals, and restorative manufacturing processes. Organizations such as GC3, Materiom, SaferMade and The Biomimicry Institute are leading this transition into green chemistry.

How are other countries reducing the consumption of plastic?

Governments around the world, often pressured by their citizens and environmental groups, are attacking the root of the problem: mass plastic consumption. Either through plastic bans and taxes that range from a few single-use plastics to all, these governments are wielding policy change to reduce plastic consumption and incentivize alternatives to single-use plastics. Here are some examples of how different countries have reduced their populations’ use of plastic.

Over 15 African countries have either banned or taxed the use of plastic shopping bags since the early 2000s, placing them ahead of ‘developed’ countries such as the US, France, and others. Rwanda, Eritrea, Tanzania, Uganda, Botswana, Kenya, Mauritania, South Africa, Senegal, Cameroon, Guinea-Bissau, Mali, Ethiopia, and Malawi have all moved to limit single-use plastics in some ways, with some of these countries banning all single-use plastics and even importation of single-use plastics. Residents of these countries have created shopping bags made from paper, cloth, jute, and raffia, that have turned out to be excellent ‘earth-friendly’ alternatives.

Before the ban, which was signed into law on July 1, 2016, Morocco used 3 billion plastic bags every year — an incredible 900 bags per person every year. It made it the second largest plastic bag consumer in the world after the US. But the landmark bill was launched to ban the production, import, sale, and distribution of all plastic bags across the country.

Antigua and Barbuda banned single-use plastic bags in 2016 making it the first country in Latin America and the Caribbean to do so. The island nation soon followed this measure with additional bans on plastic utensils and styrofoam.

In late 2017, the Chinese government moved to ban the import of single-use plastics for recycling in the country’s facilities. The recent policy change, although good for China, is not great for everyone else. New research estimates that because of the country’s refusal to take in more garbage, some 111 million tons of waste will have nowhere to go by 2030.This was a blow to the global recycling system and showcases how recycling is not the solution.

In February 2018, Taiwan announced one of the farthest-reaching bans on plastic in the world, restricting the use of single-use plastic bags, straws, utensils, and cups. The ban — which builds on existing regulations like a recycling programme, and extra charges for plastic bags — should be completely in force by 2030.

You can read more about plastic bans in different parts of the world here.

While policy change is important and certainly effective on a large scale, plastic bans alone are not the solution. As of 2019, 127 countries around the world regulate the use and consumption of plastic - but we are not seeing a significant reduction in waste nor pollution. Here’s why:

1) Most countries fail to regulate plastic through its lifecycle.

2) Countries favor partial bans over full bans.

3) Virtually no countries restrict plastic bag manufacturing/production.

4) Exemptions are numerous.

5) Incentives are not offered for alternatives to single-use plastics.

English en